Question of PMID and MESHID release

Q&A related to the challenge: JRS 2012 DM Competition: Topical Classification of Biomedical Research Papers

Question of PMID and MESHID release

Postby rick » Wed Jan 04, 2012 6:31 pm

Hi organizers,

I am a text mining category researcher and obtained the message of this competition today.
I have a question about this competition.
Will the organizer provide the pubmed id and mesh id information for training and testing data? Because I cannot see any information about that.
Pubmed id and mesh id is necessary for a text mining team. If you can provide this information, that will be great.

Best,
Rick
rick

Re: Question of PMID and MESHID release

Postby cwilkes » Wed Jan 04, 2012 7:17 pm

Looking at this page: http://tunedit.org/challenge/JRS12Contest?m=task

It looks like the information relating the MeSH number to a qualifer name (the terminology from http://www.nlm.nih.gov/mesh/topsubscope.html) and the document id number to an abstract will be released after the contest:

In order to ensure that participants who are not familiar with biomedicine, and with the MeSH ontology in particular, have equal chances as domain experts, the names of concepts and topical classifications are removed from data. Those names and relations between data columns, as well as a dictionary translating decision class identifiers into MeSH subheadings, can be provided on request after completion of the challenge.
cwilkes

Postby rick » Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:03 pm

thanks for your reply~ I got it!

Cheer,
Rick
rick

Postby NosferatoCorp » Wed Jan 04, 2012 8:16 pm

Dear Rick,

During the contest we cannot disclose information regarding PMIDs, MESHIDs or any other that could be used to disambiguate the data, since it might spoil the competitive spirit. Someone could use such information to obtain classification of the test documents directly from publicly available PubMed resources, which would be cheating. It would make the whole competition pointless.