Predictive Analytics vs. Domain Knowledge

Questions, answers, discussions related to ISMIS 2011 Contest

Predictive Analytics vs. Domain Knowledge

Postby pwf » Wed Feb 23, 2011 5:19 am

In the genre competition, the top performers have a substantial lead over the pack. Several participants have clearly discovered a trick or two that has not been discovered by the other participants. I am curious whether this advantage depends on superior knowledge of predictive analytic techniques or superior domain knowledge in respect to the variables that are used to quantify musical passages.
pwf

Re: Predictive Analytics vs. Domain Knowledge

Postby domcastro » Mon Feb 28, 2011 3:48 pm

Hi
Predictive analytics
I've just topped the leaderboard and I can guarantee you that I have no domain knowledge whatsoever - I haven't even read up on it. This is an interesting dataset and even though I now have 82% on preliminary (1/3) - I believe this will get much lower for the final testset (2/3).
domcastro

Postby cdasilva » Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:14 pm

i'm a beginner at data mining but i've been trying hard on this, doing several experiments, trying meta learning, etc but can't overcome the 0.76 barrier :S
maybe i'm missing some pre-processing.. what can be done ? I've tried normalizing data, PCA, but nothing great comes up ..

@dom: after the competition ends can you share you knowledge with us?

good luck!
cdasilva

Postby domcastro » Fri Mar 04, 2011 2:40 pm

Hi
Yes I will share. However, I'm not too confident that I will actually win the competition. I made something up that I had never tried before and therefore I have no idea about how much the model has overfit. I am happy that my method has potential and I'm now going to try it on more of a balanced benchmark training / test set.